Web Design Resources

Web Design Resources


HTML 5 is the latest standard that has been announced by the W3C. Although it has not been officially adopted as a standard yet, many leading browsers like Mozilla Firefox, Chrome and Opera support it.

HTML 5 what is it?
Unlike the earlier versions, HTML 5 is not merely an upgrade. Rather, it is a next generation markup language that provides a whole new bunch of features that can make modern web applications work more like a desktop - new semantic structural tags, API specs like canvas or offline storage and even some new inline semantic tags.

With HTML 5, you do not need Flash or plug-ins required for it. HTML 5 is though more than a replacement for Flash. The other key features that HTML 5 provides is: geo-location, animated graphics, canvas, hardware acceleration for in-browser events, application cache - the ability to keep using web applications like e-mail even after losing the Internet connection, the ability to store application data on your local machine, dragging and dropping of files from the desktop to the browser, and the addition of semantic markup on pages, making them easier for both machines and humans to understand.

Structurally, HTML 5 introduces a whole set of new elements that make it much easier to build pages. One of the most important aspects it addresses is the use of the
Element and the creation of a simple do type.

To use or not to Use?
Since it is quantum leap from HTML 4, W3C expects to accept HTML 5 as a standard only by 2022. However, many major players have started to use features of HTML. Gmail for example, uses the caching feature for ease of reading mails. Things are further complicated since each of the major browsers of today support different pieces of HTML5 currently. Proficient web design companies though know which features of HTML 5 to use while developing websites for their clients as they are aware which browsers support what. For now, it is better to rely on their judgment about whether to use HTML 5 or keep to HTML 4.